girl, getcho life.

I have never been so busy in my life. So, I thought I’d move from a physical calendar to Google Calendar. After all, there are pretty colors. During this process, a million things have slipped through the cracks. What I’m learning about myself- I literally cannot function as a successful adult without a calendar.  My short term memory is completely external.  I wouldn’t remember to wake up if my phone didn’t tell me to.  I really do forget to leave the house sometimes. Everyone thinks I’m being flaky or lazy but my mind just can’t master having a sense of time. Ask me anything about Wicked that I learned five years ago and I can spout it off, but God forbid I remember it’s my day to do laundry.  If we make plans more than a few hours in advance, you better watch me put it in my phone or text me half an hour before or something.

This begs the question, what the heck am I thinking about all the time that I can’t even remember that as a human being I need to eat something more than every few days in order to survive? (<—yeah, I’m ashamed of that run on) I spend way, way too much time thinking about other people and how their lives are going.  I wonder how they’re doing, even if I don’t particularly like them. I hear a song on my phone and wonder who the songwriter was thinking of when they wrote it.  Then I dedicate it. I have hypothetical conversations that I anticipate having, in an attempt to prevent the stupidity that is everything that comes out of my mouth. Then after having a conversation, I kick myself for the inevitable stupidity that just occurred. I think about the other timelines where I’m still at Baylor or got into DePaul or if I had never discovered theatre and was an aeronautical engineer as planned. Today I thought a lot about 2007 and what a great year it was for me, for music, and for Broadway.

My phone just told me that I have three possible engagements that start in an hour. I think I could get used to being this busy. “Good,” says my future NYC equity stage manager self, “because you don’t even know what busy is yet.”

This entry was published on February 13, 2013 at 4:36 pm and is filed under theatre. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

