trampling people.

Sometimes you have to watch people get trampled. It’s a part of life.  That same part of life that includes mortality, endangered animals, and mental illness. There’s only so much you can do.

Watching trampling

Personally, I have to do something. I care about so few people, but I care about them deeply. Of all the love languages*, the one I give the easiest is Words of Affirmation. It seems to be the least intrusive for you weirdo introverts who just want some alone time. I just want to help make it better.  The people I care about tend to be broken/healed, because that’s the kindest, most interesting type of person. I don’t want them to ever feel less than adored by at least one person at any point in time.

Trampling

Trampling people is easier than you think.  I can think of a few times I’ve accidentally done it just out of carelessness.  I can think of a time in junior high when I did it on purpose. Tina Fey even admits to doing it all the time in high school, which encouraged her to write Mean Girls. People are a lot more delicate than we think they are. Especially in my business. Everyone wears some sort of mask to hide weakness. Mine’s rather faulty, but most people are old pros at it.

When you hurt someone, fix it. I’m probably annoying when I say “make it right” for the millionth time. But ignoring it won’t make it go away. It’ll just let the pain grow and someday cause one or both of you some real damage.

Trampled

If you’ve been trampled, I’m sorry. No one deserves that. It’s hard for people to see past what’s physically in front of them, so they may not have meant to do that to you. If they did, I’m even more sorry. Everyone’s in pain. Some people just don’t know how to handle it. That doesn’t mean you should ever be the victim of their inexperience. It just means that you don’t have to have your self-worth altered because they are insensitive.

Love means being there. It’s not an emotion. It’s a commitment. Be there for each other, readers. There’s a reason God created more than one person to live on this earth at a time.

This song has been on my heart this week. I’ve seen a lot of trampling lately. And the eighth anniversary of my father dying is in a few days. Sometimes it seems there isn’t enough kindness to go around. You have to have faith that it’s out there.

“Mother cannot guide you
Now you’re on your own
Only me beside you
Still, you’re not alone
No one is alone, truly
No one is alone

Sometimes people leave you
Halfway through the wood
Others may decieve you
You decide what’s good
You decide alone
But no one is alone”

“I wish…”

“I know.”

*If you’d like to find out what your love languages are, visit http://5lovelanguages.com/profile/singles/ . It says singles because I’m assuming you’re not married. If you are, feel free to find that quiz.

This entry was published on March 7, 2013 at 1:41 am. It’s filed under love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “trampling people.

  1. Amazing article, yet hey I having a issue I can not appear to be allowed to join up to the rss feed, I’m making use of Bing reader F.Y.I.:-) Moreover have you read Tunisia incredible announcement… Regards ! Flash Web Sites

Leave a Reply

