an audition wish.

Auditions are a very special time of year/semester. Everyone’s either stressing or distracting themselves from stressing. Walking around Krannert in the hours before auditions, you can feel the tension. Even when friends are joking around in the hallway there’s an undercurrent of anxiety just below the surface. Everyone looks polished and drifts in and out of nervousness and confidence. Some people have straight-up swagger today.

I am so nervous. Not for myself. Helping run auditions is easy here because I’m working with a large team of rock stars.

No, I’m nervous for my friends. Not nervous in the way that they’re not going to do well. It’s not that at all. I’m lucky enough to know some incredibly talented people who command rooms. I’m nervous that they won’t feel they did their best.

What I’m wishing, for everyone, is the satisfaction that they left it all in the room. That the directors and faculty see exactly what they have to offer and not a nuance less. I’m wishing you all the best representation of yourselves. Because you all have something to contribute, or else you wouldn’t be here.

Please let me know if you need anything, whether to celebrate or cry or punch a wall or talk or dance or anything. Unless you want to sing The Immigrant Song to me. That is a service I no longer provide.

I’m rooting for all of you and I wish you all every broken appendage you can name.

All my love,
Armelle

This entry was published on April 22, 2013 at 4:11 pm. It’s filed under theatre and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

